Monday, July 14, 2008

No-confidence motion rejected; Opposition MPs walk out

Parti Keadilan Rakyat President Datuk Seri Wan Azizah voices the opposition’s dissatisfaction over the motion of no confidence against the Prime Minister motion rejected by the Speaker Tan Sri Pandikar Amin Mulia and the police's reaction to the emergency motion by turning Parliament into a “ war-zone”. >>>
KUALA LUMPUR: Speaker Tan Sri Pandikar Amin Mulia rejected an emergency motion of no-confidence against Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi and his Cabinet, which prompted a walkout by Opposition MPs.
The motion was filed by Opposition Leader Datuk Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail last Thursday. It was filed as a non-voting motion under Standing Orders 18 (1) and (2).
The motion was rejected in the Speaker's chambers under Standing Order 18 (7). Dr Wan Azizah was informed via a letter.
The matter was not brought up in Dewan.
The motion was rejected by the Speaker due to the "wrong choice of words."
The Opposition MPs walked out after their appeal for him to review his decision was rejected.
Pakatan Rakyat leaders said they were disappointed with Pandikar Amin's rejection of their emergency motion. They also condemned the police roadblocks across the city, saying the action was "unjustifiable."

No comments:

Post a Comment